A new county website is currently under construction with an anticipated release date February 2023

Lac qui Parle (LqP) County is located in west central Minnesota, along the South Dakota border.  Lac qui Parle County encompasses  778 square miles of agricultural land, wooded areas, rivers, lakes, and streams.  Our name, Lac qui Parle, translates from French for "lake which speaks" and if you visit us during goose and duck hunting seasons you'll know why.  Our skies, our lakes, and our fields are prime areas for geese and ducks on their way south.  The annual migration is something we embrace as folks who generally like the outdoors.  We have families who have lived here for generations and many new folks join us every year as well to enjoy our tremendous outdoor recreation opportunities, strong farming economy, and the convenience of widespread fiber optic broadband internet access.

Lac qui Parle County's northern border is comprised of the Minnesota River and Lac qui Parle Lake, which is also home to Lac qui Parle State Park, the Lac qui Parle Wildlife Management Area, and the Big Stone National Wildlife Refuge.  Lac qui Parle County is adjacent to Minnesota counties Big Stone (north), Swift (northeast), Chippewa (east), and Yellow Medicine (south), and South Dakota counties Deuel (southwest) and Grant (northwest). Besides the County, local government services are provided by 22 townships and 7 cities.  Lac qui Parle is the home county for Dawson-Boyd ISD#378, and Lac qui Parle Valley ISD #2853, but parts of the county are also served by Ortonville ISD #2903, Montevideo ISD #129, Canby ISD #891, and Yellow Medicine East ISD #2190.  Other related government organizations include the Lac qui Parle Soil & Water Conservation District, the Lac qui Parle – Yellow Bank Watershed District, the Upper Minnesota Valley Regional Development Commission, and the Lac qui Parle County Economic Development Authority.

Lac qui Parle County is here to provide a varied range of government services to our residents, businesses and visitors.  Our main offices are located in the county seat of Madison, including the County Courthouse, Family Services Center, Sheriff's Office/Jail, County Annex Building, and the Madison Highway Shop.  Highway shops are also located in the cities of Dawson, Marietta, Bellingham, and Lac qui Parle Village.   Our friendly staff are generally available to assist you Monday through Friday from 8:30 am to 4:30 pm, unless otherwise noted on the individual department webpages.  As you peruse our website, you will notice an increasing number of our services are also available online.