Board of Commissioners

Lac qui Parle County is governed by a five-member Board of County Commissioners, one per district. District lines are drawn in a way that equalizes population amongst the five districts within the county, and are adjusted following the decennial U.S. population census (2010, 2020, 2030...). Commissioners are elected by the voters in their representative districts for 4-year terms. There are no limits on how many terms a board member may serve.  

The Board meets on the first Tuesday of each month at 8:30 and the third Tuesday of each month at 1:00 in the Commissioners Room (2nd Floor, Courthouse) in Madison, MN. 

District 1: Southwest County, City of Marietta

District 2: North and Northwest County, Cities of: Bellingham, Louisburg, Nassau

District 3: City of Madison

District 4: City of Dawson

District 5: Eastern County, City of Boyd

Election Schedule

2022: Districts 2 and 4
2024: Districts 1, 3, and 5
2026: Districts 2 and 4
2028: Districts 1, 3, and 5

2021-22 LQP Board of Commissioners